Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Ed Yeung Chemistry, (515) 294-8062
Klaus Ruedenberg, Chemistry, (515) 294-5253
Bridget Bailey, News Service, (515) 294-4066


AMES, Iowa -- Two Iowa State University chemistry faculty have won prestigious awards from the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Ed Yeung and Klaus Ruedenberg were selected for outstanding contributions and innovative research in their respective fields. Yeung and Ruedenberg will be honored during the awards ceremony, April 9, 2002, at the ACS national meeting in Orlando, Fla. ACS is the world's largest scientific society.

Yeung, Distinguished Professor of chemistry at Iowa State and director of Ames Laboratory's chemical and biological sciences program, is the recipient of the ACS Award in Chromatography. He is being recognized for contributions to the field of chromatography, especially the development of new methods.

Chromatography is a method of determining the components of a mixture by passing the mixture through or over media that absorb different substances at different rates.

"It's an extremely high honor given by a group of peers," Yeung said of the ACS Award. "It's extremely rare."

Yeung is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and has received numerous awards for his discoveries, including the ACS Fisher Award in Analytical Chemistry in 1994, and the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation in 1987. He also is the recipient of four R&D 100 Awards for applied science.

Ruedenberg, Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Iowa State and senior associate of Ames Laboratory, is the recipient of the ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry. The ACS award honors the depth, originality, and scientific significance of his work.

"It is a great honor for me to be in the company of past awardees," Ruedenberg said. "It also gives me satisfaction to bring this honor to our chemistry department, and the Ames Laboratory."

Ruedenberg is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Institute of Chemists and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He received the ACS Midwest Award in 1982 and holds several honorary doctorate degrees.


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2000, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.